Big Data – Will new records be set for 2015?

The weather – record highs, record lows, record rainfall, record snowfall.  Growing up these were the only statistics I knew until I discovered sports.  Then it was goals scored, assists, games won, games loss.  I was blissfully unaware of all the other stats that team sports kept until my son went into peewee hockey.  There was a hockey Dad on the team who sat in the corner by himself with a gigantic spreadsheet with all the kids names on and categories across the top.  Now they were keeping track of all players who were on the ice for goals for and against, hits, powerplays, penalties, etc, etc.  I was amazed who would actually want to come to a game and sit there – tick, tick, tick during the whole game and then analyzing it all and presenting it to the coaches.  This was all done manually – please note:  I am not as old as Methuselah, but I am still a child in wonder when I look at all the amazing innovations happening in the world today and Big Data awes me.

Twitter and the Internet allow me to follow weather reports around the world as they are happening.  See pictures of storms within seconds of them being taken.  Yes I am a weather groupie.  Then there’s traffic, I was on the Don Valley the other day and the sign said 12 minutes to Eglinton.  Yes I glanced at my clock, marked the time and sure enough when I got to Eglinton it was 12 minutes later.  This was in traffic.  How do they do it?  Is there a satellite up there counting cars as they go by?  Sensors in the road?  20 years ago, traffic studies were done by people sitting on a lawn chair on the corner counting cars, tick tick, tick.  Remember those  IIII   (that meant 5).

Big Data, fast data, numbers I can’t even fathom.  What the heck is a zettabyte?  I was excited when they had a terabyte.  I just purchased a new laptop that has more storage on it than my last 5 laptops and desktops combined.

How big and how fast is it going to get?  I have no idea, but I am definitely enjoying the ride.  The attached slideshare has some of my favourite stats from the last couple of years.  Looking forward to what 2015 has to offer.

 

happyfacehanddrawn Good luck job hunting

guestpostintroduction

Lynne Carlson started her career off in administration, moved to Cobol Programming and for the last 14 years worked in all things recruitment.  Absolutely loves social media and excited about all the new innovations appearing every day!

Leave a Reply

